Thoughts

“Thinking about what you can’t control only wastes energy and creates its own enemy.” – Lt. Worf

Ever have one of those days when you look back and you realize how so much has changed or how much time has passed in the blink of an instance? This past week has been a bit like that, for me. I am having a hard time believing that it is already November; that I am flying out to Edinburgh today; that Mormor leaves for the US in five days; that my online classes will be done in two weeks; and that I will be back in the US for Christmas in about a month. So much time has passed in what feels like such a short time, and yet time doesn’t really change. It’s still the same twenty-four hours in a day, seven days in a week, but somehow time has sped up.

Many things have happened this year. I entered a new decade of my life and had several sharp learning curves with school and how to define success. My family experienced a hardship in the beginning of the year when my sister Jennifer flat lined and spent three months in the hospital and recovery. It than turned out to be a blessing when we discovered that her thyroid had been slowly shutting down for over eight years. Now she is an extremely happy and fun person to be around, with the ability to walk again without losing her breath, as well as chase our brother around the house when he tickles her (Everyone please get your thyroid checked). Although, Dad officially started his business last year I think it really started this year with a few major projects like The Raccoon Saloon and East of Eden.  Mom also started a business working with doTERRA,  advocating the holistic healing that she grew up with instead of pharmaceuticals that are advertised. It’s a fun learning experience for my whole family as we learn to set up websites, fill taxes, do the accounting (hey my university classes are useful!), and learn to market both businesses. This summer my friend Jo spend the summer with us, which was probably more than what she bargained for, but an experience nevertheless. This fall all my classmates went on exchange while I stayed in Jonkoping. In October I participated in A21’s Walk for Freedom and found a new church.

I’m sitting in Landvetter thinking about all of this, and just trying to grasp all that has happened. I was at this same airport earlier this year when I went to Rome with Jo, which was a phenomenal experience as well. I could probably visit Rome hundreds of times (this was my second time) and still not see everything, feel everything, experience everything, or ever spend enough time there. It’s utter madness in my head right now trying to figure it all out. Figure out what is going on with my classes, what I want to do after uni, how to balance it all, and what the heck am I actually learning. It is moments like these when so many panic or break down. I will not break down, or give into the insecurities. I will put my faith in God and pray for guidance. The biggest thing I have learned this year is that panic, and anger help no one, and inhibit many.

-Jessica

Fight the good fight of faith; take hold of the eternal life to which you were called, and you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses. I charge you in the presence of God, who gives life to all things, and of Christ Jesus, who testified the good confession before Pontius Pilate, that you keep the commandment without stain or reproach until the appearing of our Lord Jesus Christ, which He will bring about at the proper time—He who is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone possesses immortality and dwells in unapproachable light, whom no man has seen or can see. To Him be honor and eternal dominion! Amen. – 1 Timothy 6:12-16

Leave a Reply

